Awareness of Surroundings

Stop signs, traffic lights, music blaring, talking people….

they are all part of our surroundings in different situations. Surroundings vary from nature settings, to busy cities, even to things such as the car behind you honking the horn because you sat at the light a second too long when the light turned back to green. No matter where you are, you are always surrounded by something.

Working at a restaurant–with the population of clientele mostly senior citizens–it is very important that I am always aware of my surroundings. This is because I need to know when I have a new table of people to serve, when someone is waiting at the register to pay or if a customer would like a refill on their cup of coffee. The customers are coming to a sit-down restaurant to be served and taken care of for a meal. I need to make sure that I provide them with the best service possible. (Also, it is determining my pay through tips, so I must do a good job to benefit myself as well.) Most everything that I must do for my job requires and alert awareness of my surroundings. Although many of us spend a majority of time at our workplace, we still need to be aware of our surroundings at other places.

One day I came across a quote that made me realize that I needed to pay more attention to my social surroundings. The quote read; “You become like the five people you spend the most time with, so chose carefully.” I’m not saying that anybody I hang around with isn’t someone that I trust or need to re-think being around. The quote speaks in more volumes than that. The author of that saying isn’t telling you to go find new friends, but to instead be conscious and aware of what you’re letting influence you.

I noticed that my friends don’t always have the cleanest mouths and some even cuss worse than a sailor. I also noticed that I was beginning to speak more frequent words of profanity. Although I spend lots of time around these close friends, I personally don’t want to use the same language. As the quote said, I need to chose carefully. Therefore, when I spend time around these friends, I made sure to watch my words and not continue picking up the same speaking habits. I did not distance myself from these friends at all, I chose to discipline myself to make sure I didn’t use profanity just to fit in with them or pick up on habits.

Social setting is just another area of surroundings to be aware of. There are many others such a physical, verbal, audible, etc. Therefore, it is important to maintain an awareness of your surroundings and actions to be the person you want to be and portray the character you wish to be viewed as.

And remember, “You become like the five people you spend the most time with, so chose carefully.”

Leave a Reply

